Growing Up With Hello Kitty: Collections One and Two

| May 29, 2012

Hello Kitty is known the world over. She has stuffed toys, clothing, furniture, and many other items with her face on it including small appliances like toasters. Hello Kitty, or Kitty White, first appeared on a coin purse in Japan in 1974. From there all the merchandise and television series began to come around. Growing Up With Hello Kitty: 1 & 2, from Animego, are collections of television series focused on young children to help them learn social and self-help skills.

In each episode Kitty and her twin sister Mimmy are presented with a problem ranging from their mother being upset that they wont eat their vegetables to learning when it is the right time to use the bathroom. The lessons are given in simple terms that children can understand but not in a preachy way. Hello Kitty’s parents are loving and patient, they allow her to make mistakes but then explain to her why they are mistakes and how she can fix them. They also teach her that there are consequences, both good and bad, to her actions. Lessons are more easily learned when given in a way that makes it feel okay to make mistakes. This is something children need to know, it is okay to make mistakes as long as you learn from them. It is also important for children to understand that it is okay if you can not do something perfectly the first time, you just keep trying. This is not only demonstrated by Kitty and Mimmy but also by their Father in one episode where he has to learn to cook. This is important for children to understand, that parents also have to learn as well as the children.

The art and story is simple and straight forward. Children will not be distracted by too much going on during the episode. On the other hand, parents may not be able to watch too many episodes in a row because there are times when the simplicity of the story can become a little mundane for an adult. This should not deter you from getting it for your children. This aspect will lend itself to watching in moderation which is better for children.

Each set contains six episodes for a total of forty-five minutes a piece. Episodes in the first collection of Growing Up With Hello Kitty include “Eating Our Vegetables”, “Cleaning Up My Mess”, “Sleeping By Ourselves”, “It’s Fun to Help”, “Talking on the Phone”, and “Changing Our Clothes”. The second collection contains the episodes, “I Can Share With Friends”, “Saying I’m Sorry”, “Let’s Play Together”, “Eating Nicely”, “Going to the Bathroom”, and “Replying Properly”.

About the Author:

Amber is an Early Childhood Education Professional in Chicago . She is also a part of an All Female Anime Circle, Kichi Gi. This circle explores anime, manga, and Japanese culture, while also trying to make an impact within the community. Amber is also a great lover of history and has worked hard over the years to study history and all it has to teach us.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.