Posted: 03/07/2003


The 9th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards

by Yasmin Hunt

The 9th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will air on TNT Sunday, March 9 at 8 pm ET, 7 pm PT and 6 pm MT.

Film Monthly Home
Wayne Case
Steve Anderson
The Rant
Short Takes (Archived)
Small Screen Monthly
Behind the Scenes
New on DVD
The Indies
Film Noir
Coming Soon
Now Playing
Books on Film
What's Hot at the Movies This Week
Interviews TV

The 9th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® (the SAG Awards) will air Sunday, March 9. It will be telecast on TNT at 8 pm ET, 7 pm PT and 6 pm MT from the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles. The SAG Awards will honor outstanding performances from 2002 in five film categories and eight television categories including the ensemble awards, a commendation for the collaborative performance by a cast for both motion pictures and television.

Unlike any other awards presented, the SAG Awards® given to recipients are chosen by their peers. More than 98,000 active Guild members nationwide cast secret ballots to determine who will receive the coveted bronze Actor® statuettes. In an intimate dinner setting, the industries top actors enjoy solidarity as they honor their own. The SAG Awards® are closely watched by the industry as a precursor of possible Oscar® and Emmy® recognition.

Actor, director and producer Clint Eastwood will receive the Guild’s 39th Life Achievement Award celebrating his career achievement and humanitarian efforts. Recent recipients include Ossie Davis and Rubie Dee, Sidney Poitier, Kirk Douglas, Edward Asner, Elizabeth Taylor, Angela Lansbury and Robert Redford.

The 9th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® is executive-produced by Jeff Margolis and is produced by Kathy Connell. Following the awards show and for the seventh consecutive year, PEOPLE magazine and the Entertainment Industry Foundation (EIF) will host the Screen Actors Guild Post-Awards Gala, benefiting the Screen Actors Guild Foundation. The Mirage Hotel & Casino joins PEOPLE and EIF for the first time as a co-presenting sponsor. BALANCE® Bar is a co-sponsor of the Gala for the third consecutive year.

Nominations for the SAG® Awards were announced by Megan Mullally (Will & Grace) and Michael Clarke Duncan (Daredevil). Two randomly selected panels, totaling 4,200 SAG members from across the United States, chose this year’s Actor® nominees. Ballots were mailed January 3 and returned by the deadline of January 24 to Integrity Voting Systems, the Awards’ official teller. Ballots were mailed to the active membership on February 11th.

For Theatrical Motion Pictures, nominees for Male Actor in a Leading Role are Adrien Brody (The Pianist), Nicolas Cage (Adaptation), Daniel Day-Lewis (Gangs of New York), Richard Gere (Chicago), and Jack Nicholson (About Schmidt). For Female Actor in a Leading Role: Salma Hayek (Frida), Nicole Kidman (The Hours), Diane Lane (Unfaithful), Julianne Moore (Far From Heaven), and Renée Zellweger (Chicago).

The 9th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will air on TNT Sunday, March 9 at 8 pm ET, 7 pm PT and 6 pm MT.

Yasmin Hunt is a freelance writer and film lover living an East Coast lifestyle.

Got a problem? E-mail us at